How to format External USB Harddrives to FAT32 in Windows 7 for PS3

Back in the old days, I’ve got 2 pairs of 40GB IDE hard drives. A year later, I bought the new Core i7 rig which uses SATA drives instead of IDE ones. And months later, bought myself a slim 120GB PlayStation 3. I assumed that I can use those old drives for the PS3, just to copy movies and pictures (I have a 4GB flashdrive and I think it’s too small for me to copy those HD Girls’ Generation videos I collected so far). Back in Windows XP, formatting isn’t a problem. You can use either FAT32 or NTFS, or even the older FAT and FAT16. But the big problem is, Microsoft excluded that option in Windows Vista and 7, and I believe, even in the next version of Windows… I even bought an external enclosure for those harddisk and finally I’ve got a solution. Well, it’s not like there’s no other solution but I think this one’s the best.

1. Download this: fat32format
2. Extract it to C:\
3. Run > CMD
4. In the command line, type “cd…” so that it will bring you to C:\
5. type in “fat32format :” and Press Enter. Example: fat32format G: (where G is the drive letter of the external USB drive.)
6. A prompt will appear “Warning ALL data on drive ‘f’ will be lost irretrievably, are you sure (y/n)” and type “y” then press Enter.
7. It will format now, and done!!!

Just a warning. This post doesn’t have anything to do with the current PS3 exploits such as the PSJailBreak. I am against those things and you can try checking out this article if you don’t believe me, Here. Please do not practice this method so you can use those exploits. If you do that, you’re really committing a crime.

Long live PlayStation 3!!!

|> Arch Enemy – We Will Rise

About mistercomputer

I'm Ken. Blogger. Programmer. Instructor. Gamer. Lover.

Posted on June 26, 2010, in PlayStation 3, Software Development, Tips and Tricks, Windows 7 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. it says fat32format is not recognized as an internal or external comand

  2. Great solution. Worked a charm

  3. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this
    weblog and I am impressed! Very useful info specially
    the remaining section 🙂 I maintain such info a lot. I used to
    be looking for this certain info for a very lengthy time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

  4. This is very fascinating, You are a very professional blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and sit up for searching for
    extra of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your site
    in my social networks

  5. certainly like your website however you
    have to check the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it
    very troublesome to inform the reality on the other hand I
    will surely come back again.

  6. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but
    I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require
    any html coding expertise to make your own blog?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  7. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well
    written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and
    come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks
    for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  8. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site.

    You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please send me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  9. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love
    to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.

    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an email.

  10. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u
    got this from. thank you

  11. Good replies in return of this issue with firm arguments and telling
    all about that.

  12. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your
    weblog. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to
    write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Thanks!

  13. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe
    you would have some experience with something like this.

    Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  14. Hi, every time i used to check blog posts here early in the dawn, for the reason that i love to find
    out more and more.

Leave a Reply

