[2009] Slapshock – Cariño Brutal

Artist: Slapshock
Album Title: Cariño Brutal

Release Type: 6th Studio Album
Release Date: October 2009
Record Label: PolyEast Records (Formerly EMI Records)
Promotional Single(s): Can’t Stop Us Now; Cariño Brutal; Like Eskimo
Genre(s): Metalcore; Melodic Metalcore; Alternative Metal

This is “The Rap Metal king of the Philippines” Slapshocks’ 6th studio album. Released on October 2009, the band has again conquered the satisfaction of their fans from their country and even in the abroad. This album features the band’s shifting of genre and their experimentation from the old school Rap Metal/Nu Metal to Alternative Metal to Metalcore. All tracks are considerably Metalcore, with brutal musical elements and technical screamed vocals from the band’s frontman Jamir Garcia. Compared to their last release, which is Recollection (their 2nd compilation album), this is indeed a Metalcore album. Although considered as their 6th LP, the release only consist of 6 tracks, heavily and brutally produced by the band itself.

Tracklist:

1. Stronger
2. Alive
3. Like Eskimo
4. Forever
5. Can’t Stop Us Now
6. Cariño Brutal

All tracks are listenable, specially if you’re a true Metalhead. This release is for you. It features the band’s evolution from their last 5 releases. In my opinion, it can be considered to be similar to the styles of international acts like Trivium, Killswitch Engage, Bullet For My Valentine, etc. In fact, the first time I heard the song “Like Eskimo”, my first impression is that it really sound like a Killswitch Engage song, since it is a Melodic Metalcore song. The title song “Cariño Brutal” sounds a lot like a Trivium’s material, similar to their last release “Shogun” back in 2008. My favorite track from this release is “Cariño Brutal”. In fact, it is the only song in Filipino language, which is cool enough. I love the part where they shout “Hoy!” which sounds a lot like they’re promoting the country, and the phrase “Inukit mo ang dusa’t pasakit, kung ako sayo wag na wag kang lalapit!” being repeated a number of times while being screamed. Great job guys! I wish Slapshock will continue creating more songs like this in the near future. Recommended album, cheers!

|> miss A – Breathe

About mistercomputer

I'm Ken. Blogger. Programmer. Instructor. Gamer.

Posted on December 17, 2010, in Heavy Metal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Heya this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if
    you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have
    no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.

    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  2. Hey! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog such as yours require
    a large amount of work? I’m brand new to blogging but I
    do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for
    new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your next write
    ups thank you once again.

  5. It is not my first time to go to see this site, i am visiting this
    website dailly and obtain good data from here daily.

  6. Wow, amazing weblog format! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you make blogging glance easy. The overall glance of
    your site is wonderful, let alone the content material!

  7. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you
    discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  8. fantastic submit, very informative. I wonder why the opposite
    experts of this sector do not realize this.
    You should continue your writing. I am confident, you have a
    huge readers’ base already!

  9. Very good blog you have here but I was wanting to know if
    you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable people that share the same
    interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

