2010 | James Bond 007: Blood Stone

Developer(s): Bizarre Creations (PS3, Xbox 360); n-Space (Nintendo DS); High Moon Studios (Microsoft Windows)
Publisher(s): Activision, Square Enix (Japan)
Platform(s): PlayStation 3, Nintendo DS, Microsoft Windows, Xbox 360
First Released: November 2, 2010 (NA)
Genre(s): Action-adventure, Third-person shooter
Mode(s): Single-player, multiplayer
Played On: Microsoft Windows

Here we go for another game that should already be reviewed a few months ago. I was busy so I’m sorry. Anyway, this is the latest game for the James Bond saga, and it’s out for a long time now. It’s great to see that people are still making the series alive, through games and box-office films. My dad and I were fans of the series. Finally, here’s the most recent offering of the series to attract both fans and the younger generation.

Basically, James Bond games are purely action-packed games with intense storyline, all revolving in the game’s protagonist, James Bond. The main features include the car-chasing gameplay in some great scenes of the game, plus the appearance of Pop singer, Joss Stone.

If we talk about gameplay, Blood Stone uses a third-person shooting mechanism together with hand-to-hand combat which is a bit similar to earlier video game titles like Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, Grand Theft Auto, etc. Although Blood Stone is not an open-world and is a linear game, you can still feel the influence of sandbox-style games such as Grand Theft Auto, Assassin’ Creed, throughout the game. Oh, and I told you it’s a linear game so please do not go anywhere in some points of the game, coz’ that’ll not work.

In anyway, I still love the car-chasing gameplay. It’s like they brought some Need For Speed elements. The good thing is that they’ve done well. I had fun playing them. They’re not too hard, and not even too easy. Although the car-chase was just for a few times, atleast it gave me much excitement and a shifting from the shooting genre of the game.

There are a number of weapons that can be used in the game, well just the same number as what Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune have. But the thing is, aside from these weaponry, you have vast amount of explosives during the game. Lots of explosive barrels are there, through out every scene, which is what makes it unrealistice-but-fun.

Graphics, you say? Well, as for me, I would like to praise it. I never thought that this James Bond game is almost as beautiful as Mafia II or the likes, atleast for the PC. It’s not the best out there, in fact, it’s ugly if you think about Physics and AI. There are some points in the game wherein your enemies are starting to move in a weird position. Now here’s what I’m talking about. Below is a screenshot of the AI and Physics problem. See the gun in there? It’s actually an enemy who got stuck by… I don’t know.

Well, that’s it. Eyecandy is there so just ignore the Physics and enjoy the beauty around.

Now when we talk about the story, one thing comes in mind. It’s a James Bond game. So I’m sure you now have an idea. We have James Bond and that grandma doing some mission in Athens after a celebration party. There, she meets the girl, Joss Stone. Started to know each other and eventually joined forces to do the rest of the missions while traveling around the world. That’s all. I don’t want to make spoilers tonight… and thank me for that. 🙂

By the way, I remember, here are some videos I took the time I played the game in my PC back some months ago:

As a conclusion, this game rocks. For about… 10-15 hours, you’ll feel excitement as the action-packed hero of the game, James Bond, take over your gaming life. 8.5

|> Good Charlotte – In This World (Murder)

About mistercomputer

I'm Ken. Blogger. Programmer. Instructor. Gamer. Lover.

Posted on March 31, 2011, in The Games, Video Game Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It is really a great and helpful piece of info.
    I am happy that you just shared this helpful info with us.

    Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I like the valuable information you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently.
    I am slightly sure I will be told many new stuff right right here!
    Best of luck for the following!

  3. You actually make it seem so easy along with your presentation however I find this matter to be
    really something that I think I would never understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely huge for me.
    I’m looking forward to your next post, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

Leave a Reply

