EVENT | Good Charlotte: Live in Manila [D-Day]

So just like what my earlier post said, it is now time for me to watch my all-time favorite band Good Charlotte hit the stage and sing all-night. It was a pleasure for me to see them in person.

Firstly, thinking of how far my house is from the venue, it’s a bit tiring to go. However, we still went and we took an MRT ride in Quezon Ave. It took us almost an hour and we arrived at the Ayala MRT Station at 6PM, just in time to see the crowd, waiting to see GC perform. Near the entrance, there, you could buy their latest CD, Cardiology.

The problem is, we’re late to have the opportunity to see them while sitting in front. Instead, we’re just standing at the back, but satisfyingly enough to see them perform. And there’s that huge screen on top of Dean Butterworth’s drumset! Surprisingly, someone offered me to buy his ticket, for 250bucks. I did not deal with him, thinking of my older sister and brother.

The show started finally at around 6:30PM and everyone have gone crazy. People I see are almost teenagers or college kids, but I was a bit surprised seeing some moms, some middle-aged men, etc. It’s variety!

Good Charlotte took over the stage with the intro track from Cardiology, and then they followed it with their 2003 hit single, “The Anthem”. Basically, it’s a song for teenage kids to not follow the trend and waste life. A very good and meaningful song, that everyone enjoyed. The feeling was, like everyone’s jumping up and down, just like how the bass of the songs are.

What’s really fun to see is how Good Charlotte perform with energy while everyone’s into the song, jumping up and down, singing their loudest and waving their arms. And everytime a song ends, the Madden brothers, like what they usually do, they keep on talking and telling some stories like their experience here in Manila and how they missed it after their last tour back in 2005. The Maddens is so funny when they say “Yeah, man!”, and then there’s that moment when Joel said “Mahal~ ko kayo”. My sister couldn’t forget that, specially before they sang Like It’s Her Birthday, when Benji said “everytime we come here in the Philippines, I feel like it’s my birthday!”.

While the show continues, the three of us keeps on taking video, and to our surprise, MYX was there, doing some interview with our co-audiences. I’m not sure about this, but I guess we were also filmed, as the cameraman keep on taking video in our area.

The performance lasted for almost 2-3 hours, and everyone was so pleased. I feel like my wish during my teenage days for almost 7 years was finally fulfilled. I just felt envious of those people lucky enough to meet and great the band in the stage, and also those people who have an opportunity to get their CD’s signed by the band. T~T

Looking for a fast food chain to eat at, we came back to the Activity Center, and to my surprise, some teenage kids came, giving free stubs to meet and greet the band! It’s like, OMG! Now’s my chance to chat a little with the band, see my idols, the Madden twins, and tell Paul that we share the same birthday! And that’s what happened! It goes like this,

Me: Hey there, Paul!
Paul: Hey there, buddy
Me: You know what, we share the same birthday.
Paul: October 5..?
Me: Yup!
Paul: Cool.. My daughter was also born on October 5..
Me: ohhhh… (I was like, wow… I didn’t know that!)

Now, Song Seung Hoon-hyung is the only one left, then a group of handsome guys whose birthday is on October 5 will have a face off! Anyway, I had the chance to greet them all and shake hands. It was unbelievably true, just like how I realized that I’m almost taller than Benji! In the end, the crew took a group photo of me and the band, and I was next to Billy. I will post the photo soon, after I claim it in Picture City on April 13. I’m definitely anticipating for it. 🙂 EDIT (110415): It’s here now, just click me. 🙂

It was a sigh that I won’t be able to get my CD signed by the band, I even brought my old The Chronicles of Life and Death and Good Morning Revival CD, as well as my old Pulp Magazine, but anyway, what’s more important is that I had a lot of fun, even my older sister and brother, and had a chance to meet and greet and take a photo with the band. I’m really thanking God for this. Thank you God 🙂

Oh, and I shouldn’t forget about the videos I took, here they are:

Currently, this video playlist only includes videos I took, which is in a very bad quality. I’m gonna upload my sister’s and brother’s soon.

|> Good Charlotte – I Don’t Wanna Be In Love (Dance Floor Anthem)

About mistercomputer

I'm Ken. Blogger. Programmer. Instructor. Gamer.

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Photoblog, Punk Rock, The Music, Video Blog, Weblog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

